1. Welcome to TalkBass 2014! If you're new here, we just went through a major site upgrade. Please post all concerns and bugs to the Forum Usage Issues forum. We will be monitoring that forum. Thank you for all of your feedback.

The TalkBass iphone/android app is NOT WORKING currently. We're working on it. Tapatalk IS working, so if you need to use an app, use Tapatalk. Try using your browser though - TalkBass is now 100% responsive to your phone/tablet screen size ;)

Please read the TalkBass 2014 FAQ for lots of great info on the new software.

Scales/Modes-What's the difference?

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by td1368, Aug 29, 2001.

1. td1368

td1368

I just started learning modes with my instructor this week. Needless to say there is a ton of information to absorb and learn

I did a search on modes but most posts deal with deriving modes and naming modes.
    However my question is what is the difference between a scale and a mode? Is a mode just a different form or naming convention?
  2. Phil Smith

Phil Smith Mr Sumisu 2 U Supporting Member

Disclosures:
    Developer: iGigBook Sheet Music Manager
    A mode is derived from a scale and it's a scale itself containing all the same notes as the original scale but begins and ends on a different note with a different pattern of whole steps and half steps.

Take the C major scale - Ionian mode:

C D E F G A B C

W W h W W W h - The whole step, half step pattern

The Mixolydian mode would start with G and proceed to G an octave higher:

G A B C D E F G

W W h W W h W - The whole step, half step pattern

I leave the rest for you to explore.
  3. David Kaczorowski

David Kaczorowski

Or to put it simply, they're the same thing but starting on a different note while remaining in the same key. Play a C major scale, not play the exact same notes, but starting on D and playing up to D.
  4. Richard Lindsey

Richard Lindsey