Schematic of Stingray HH 5-way Switch

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by Bobster, Nov 20, 2012.


  1. Bobster

    Bobster

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2006
    Messages:
    1,804
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    I'm strongly considering modding my Ray35 to HH configuration. I have a matching pickup and would only need to route the body out.

    With this in mind, I'm trying to locate a schematic of the HH switch.

    Failing this, I'll gladly accept photos to get this wired up correctly.

    Any assistance you can provide will be greatly appreciated and I'll post pics when complete, although it may be several months down the line.

    Thanks

    Bob
     
  2. hotrodjohn

    hotrodjohn Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2009
    Messages:
    572
  3. Bobster

    Bobster

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2006
    Messages:
    1,804
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Thanks John,

    Sterling Ball isn't known to give much away ;-)

    Bob
     
  4. ex-tension

    ex-tension

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Messages:
    338
  5. Register to disable this ad
  6. Angel LaHash

    Angel LaHash

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2012
    Messages:
    176
    mm i did write a lot but wasnt any thing to do with the dam question SORRY..
    ------
    http://www.seymourduncan.com/forum/showthread.php?185216-Rogue-HH-guitar-wiring-diagram-needed
    Interesting wiring there

    Ill try and sort out a better picture when i get back from college tho
    -----
    Doing my best to follow these diagrams and i dont see how they work myself the paths look dam mixed
    If that switching pattion is right on that LINK then its not a normal 5 way switch
    ----
    Best ive done so far is .. Humbuckle top.. Both.. Middle.. (not sure) the Top Parrel
    #####
    http://www.stewmac.com/shop/Electronics,_pickups/Components:_Switches_and_knobs/Megaswitches/Megaswitch_P-Model.html
    Simple and easy way to do it
     
  7. iunno

    iunno

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    206
    Don't bother trying to do it the way EB does it, you'd need a different preamp. Two coil switches and a pickup select is more usable anyway. I don't know if you're really into the HH Ray tone, but the neck position sucks imo. I'd put the extra humbucker in the $$ position if anything.
     
  8. Bobster

    Bobster

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2006
    Messages:
    1,804
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    iunno,

    On a Ray35, the pickup leads (all but black which runs to ground) run to the switch and from the switch to the board. I think that's so they can use the same board with both the Ray34 and Ray35.

    So, this should actually be easier to accomplish than with an SR5.

    I'm just trying to see how I would wire both pickups into a 5-way switch and not have to make space for any additional switches.

    Bob
     
  9. Angel LaHash

    Angel LaHash

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2012
    Messages:
    176
    What do you want it to do?
    Neck Humbuckler, Bridge Humbuckler, and i guess Both all together
    what sort of things do you want the other positions to do .. or try to do

    Out of Phase.. parrell .. the inner coils
     
  10. Bobster

    Bobster

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2006
    Messages:
    1,804
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Angel,

    I had planned to stick with the standard parallel HH options:

    1 - coils 3 & 4 (neck pickup)
    2 - coils 2 & 3
    3 - coils 1 & 2 & 3 & 4
    4 - coils 1 & 4
    5 - coils 1 & 2 (traditional Stingray)

    I think the only thing missing there would coils 2 & 4.

    But I'm still not set in stone on anything. Series/Parallel would be a good option...

    Bob
     
  11. Angel LaHash

    Angel LaHash

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2012
    Messages:
    176
    i think you would need a bigger switch for that lay out
    I think Fender did a 4P5T.. and it will be a mixture of mutiing out the Earth and the Hot sides

    http://static.zoovy.com/img/guitare...way_4pole_lever_switch_terminal_connectio ns
    http://www.premierguitar.com/Stream...-F93F-4247-925E-14038D7A845E&Image_Type=image

    This is another site talking about the same problem
    http://www.thegearpage.net/board/showthread.php?t=866294
    but they all use added switchese
    what im trying to avoid myself

    Looking at that switch its a lot Easier,
    Link all the 0s
    Neck 1 . x. x . 3 . 4 . 5
    Neck 2 . x . 2 . 3 . x . 5
    Bridge 3 . 1 . 2 . 4 . x . x
    Bridge 4 . 1 . x . 3 . 4 . x
     

Share This Page