1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

School me on Markbass stuff.

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by thedudebrah, Feb 18, 2013.

1. thedudebrah

thedudebrah

I was on vacation in St. Pete Florida this past weekend and ended up at a bar while a band was playing. Blues rock kind of feel, mostly covers I believe. Their bassist was using a 5 string Lakland through a small Markbass head, but I couldn't see the cab and I couldn't tell if he had PA support. I have zero experience with Markbass stuff, I've never played them and I've never heard one played live.

Holy crap. This guy was getting HUGE sound, some of the sweetest tones I've heard, IMO. Hit me in the gut with the low end and had enough mids to cut. I've been sort of shopping for a smaller rig recently, and I'm thinking maybe this is the way I want to go. Where do I even start? What do I stay away from? I've done a little browsing on my own, but it's a huge departure from my SVT rig and its like Greek to me. Anyone care to help me spend my money?

Ps: if you were the bass player at the Drunken Clam in St. Pete Friday night, you were killin it!

2. IronLung1986

IronLung1986

i've gushed shamelessly about markbass many times on here. my opinion is that they're the best sounding amps around (and far from the most expensive). you almost can't go wrong, i've certainly never tried a bad sounding markbass model. the clarity and responsiveness is what i love the most; the light weight is just icing on the cake.

3. Stock250

Stock250

I have the mark bass 104 cab and the little mark tube head. Amazing tone for around 1500 bucks. Usually you can tell a markbass cab by the yellow cones, it's kinda their thing. There is a few models with black cones though. Hopefully that helps.

4. B-string

B-string Gold Supporting Member