Scott Devine's Play Along Series

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by Chief2112, Dec 1, 2012.

1. Chief2112

Chief2112

I'm still a beginner and have just been playing a little over a year now. All self taught.

One of the great resources are continually thrown around on these forums is Scott Devine and his scottsbasslessons.com stuff. I've been a fan for awhile.

Anyways, I just threw down some cash for the first play along series (II V I).

I just started it today and I looked up and it had been 3 hours of some really great strides in my playing and understanding. It's a damn well put together resource and I highly recommend it.

It was perfect for me since I just started playing with some other musicians for the first time and learning to play and improvise some bass lines over some simple chord progressions is really going to help me. And I already feel like I know the fretboard better after that one session. Lightbulbs are going on everywhere!

Big thumbs up!! And thanks Scott if you see this!

2. Raw Amateur

Raw Amateur

I bought the II V I chord progression series as well. I have to say it's a bargain basement deal. Essentially a 45 minute plus lesson that is well thought out and gradually builds in difficulty that comes with backing tracks in all keys for you to practice as well as notation and tab documents that come along with it. For $17. I have been using the backing tracks for fretboard excercises as well.

I have been playing for 2 years. While the concepts weren't new to me, the teaching method was, and I have really enjoyed it.

3. Orangeclawhammr

Orangeclawhammr Supporting Member