Self-taught... any obvious issues with my playing style? (video)

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by basslust, Aug 12, 2013.

1. basslust

basslust

Ok, so I have been seriously practicing bass for a little over a year and have the fortune of being able to play with other musicians regularly. I try to gain knowledge from those that have been in the game for longer but I don't know personally any well-seasoned bassists who can give me a good critique of my playing style. What I'm most worried about is the angles of my wrists as playing, and I think this video, while short, is sufficient to show what I look like playing. Any other helpful tips or comments about my posture or anything at all for that matter are appreciated. Also, I can post another video tomorrow if anyone wants to see any aspect of my playing closer for further inspection.

I am trying to not look at the bass when I am playing as you can see in this video. It is something I am conscious of and trying to prevent. Also, as far as timing is concerned, I do practice with a metronome usually but this is done without one, so it is possibly a bit rushed at points.

Without further ado-- Sly and the Family Stone-- "If You Want Me to Stay" bassline (rudimentary)
  2. Spaldo

Spaldo

You got a little bit of Jamerson's hook going on there!

Good choice of bass for a start (tho' I prefer the passive version). Your wrist angle seems fine, but seems a little on the stiff side. Do you always play standing up? As far as not looking at the board, that's not something you should worry about when you practice. After a while, you'll find you're not looking (esp. if you sing) when you play.
  3. basslust

basslust