1. Welcome to TalkBass 2014! If you're new here, we just went through a major site upgrade. Please post all concerns and bugs to the Forum Usage Issues forum. We will be monitoring that forum. Thank you for all of your feedback.

The TB Android app is working, you may need to uninstall/reinstall. The iPhone app is still pending approval by Apple. If you haven't yet, try using your mobile browser - TalkBass is responsive to any screen size.

Please read the TalkBass 2014 FAQ for lots of great info on the new software.

Self-taught back to self-studying

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by BullHorn, Jan 29, 2013.

1. BullHorn

BullHorn

I've been at this bass thing for a while now, forever-self-taught. Mostly just picking up basslines from hearing.

Every year comes a time when I decide it's time to learn some proper chords/modes/scales but quickly give up. Maybe I'm doing something wrong.

Is it too late or can I still be saved?

p.s. my technique is quite terrible as well but that's a story for a different day...
  2. MalcolmAmos

MalcolmAmos Supporting Member

it's never too late. I took up music at 65 when I retired in 2000. Banjo, rhythm guitar, electric guitar and keyboard stuck, then clarinet and fiddle came and left quickly, after that 4 string bass came into my life. Very happy with my bass, I think it will take me the rest of the way. IMO if we want to stay productive we should be learning something new all the time.

You need to get with a band, jamming circle, or something that gets you with other musicians. They will help and force you to focus on your music.

I think from your post focus is what is missing.

Good luck.
  3. AgressivePassiv

AgressivePassiv Supporting Member

I'm entirely self taught too. The most useful course I found for learning and implementing the modes was Stu Hamm's Fretboard Fitness on truefire.com. Did a lot for my ear, technique, improvising, soloing etc. I think there may be a DVD version of the course now too.