1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

self taught issue

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by Minitruth1984, Nov 4, 2012.

1. Minitruth1984

Minitruth1984

I am a self taught bassist, I have been playing for 7 years I think im pretty good I play with a lot of scaling and different finger picking styles but I feel like there is so much I missed and would like to learn, but it is so f**king hard to go back to the beginning. I know no musical theory or anything like that im usually pretty good at matching the key but would like to be spot on with it and also I would like to learn more advanced stuff but it kind of screws me up missing some stuff I feel like I should have learned does anyone have any advice or gone through a similar issue?

2. Duckwater

Duckwater

If you wanna learn theory, you just gotta immerse yourself in it. You will grow from putting yourself in uncomfortable situations, and eventually you will crave to learn more and more theory. Right now I'm teaching myself to use traditional Japanese scales in Western contexts, a couple years ago I would have never imagined myself doing this.

Learn your chord tones and intervals, practice with a metronome and get your inner clock tight, train your ears to recognize patterns and pitches, there are tons of free lessons and programs online for learning these things.

Never let your study get in the way of your passion though, nothing is more important that the feeling you put into your playing.

3. Sloop John D

Sloop John D