1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

Self-taught just hit a wall.

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by Alecu, Aug 1, 2013.

1. Alecu

Alecu

Hello to everyone,

To begin with, I'm a self-taught bass player playing for a couple of years now, having a pretty good evolution as a potential musician. I am a (very) quick learner, as I learned various techniques and can learn songs pretty fast; even more, my muscle memory doesn't need much to "remember". My motivation can make me practice up to 10 hours/day.

So, a promising start. What is my problem ?

I simply don't know what to do next. I don't know much musical theory at all, I don't know how should I compose a song from scratch, even though I consider myself a creative person.

Even more, I don't know what I don't know !?
    Does this mean that I should play only technical material, such as an endless array of scales and arpeggios?
    I honestly don't think so.

That's why I posted here, I'm pretty sure that most of the musicians have hit this common plateau.
    Any feedback is much appreciated.

Thank you.

I'm really sorry, as I think this has been asked before, but I think a conversation with me would be more useful.

2. angryclown5

angryclown5

Learn theory. Major scale diatonic chord construction, minor scale chord construction, chord functions, etc. Music theory 1, and up from there. The material is out there in books, on line, in school or lessons. It will make learning songs easier, and give you material to practice, thereby helping your technique.

3. elgecko

elgecko

Get out there and play with other people!

4. ThomClaire

ThomClaire

+1