1. Welcome to TalkBass 2014! If you're new here, we just went through a major site upgrade. Please post all concerns and bugs to the Forum Usage Issues forum. We will be monitoring that forum. Thank you for all of your feedback.

The TB Android app is working, you may need to uninstall/reinstall. The iPhone app is now updated and should work after you upgrade. TalkBass is responsive to any screen size, so we recommend using your mobile browser for full functionality.

Please read the TalkBass 2014 FAQ for lots of great info on the new software.

Self Taught Music sight reading...!!!

Discussion in 'Music Theory [DB]' started by rgarcia26, Jan 25, 2013.

1. rgarcia26

rgarcia26

I have being learning by my self how to read music, I practice 15 min a day in the morning before leaving for work.

I being using the website "The sight reading factory" and I jump from L1 to 2,3 and now I am stock in L4

I keep a daily log of my practices and for Jan I am almost no progress from this level, I am thinking if is take me a month to move to level 5 and then to L6 I am maybe in the right track..

i am a GB player but Once I get to an good level of music reading I want to take classes for an DB that I restore a while back...

There is any advise for me???

Thank everybody...Ruben
  2. Ed Fuqua

Ed Fuqua

It's kind of like weight training in a way, when you start you make a lot of visible progress and you quickly change your strength levels. But the more you do, the harder it is to make a smaller amount of progress. Hang in, you'll get past those levels too.
    You don't need to wait for a high level of sight reading to start studying DB, Simandl starts off pretty simply, rhythmically. Your teacher will have you working on as much physical approach stuff as sight reading ....
  3. rgarcia26

rgarcia26

I agreed with you... I wanted to have a good foundation before staring with my DB studies