Setting action on my American Fender Jazz

Discussion in 'Hardware, Setup & Repair [BG]' started by Knavery, Feb 15, 2014.

1. Knavery

Knavery Supporting Member

Hey folks -
    I took my Fender American Jazz to GC and had them set it up. IN the store, it was awesome, but once I got it home, it buzzed pretty bad. I have very little knowledge with setting my own instruments up, but have the Stu-Mac string gauge and all that.

The problem I'm having is that I get a little bit of buzz on every string even with the string height at around .090 and .100. Actually at .100, the buzz isn't too bad.

I have two questions.

1.) Is this normal action for a bass? As a guitar, I find it to bit a tad high. And I've had other basses with much lower action.
    2.) Do I use the same height for each string? I'm measuring from the top of the 12th fret to the bottom of the string. They are roughly between .090 to .100.

Thanks!

2. pfox14

pfox14

Sounds like it was not set up properly. Shouldn't be buzzing with action that height. G string should be lower than E. The action should be gradually higher from high to low strings. Action could be raised some more, especially if it gets rid of the buzz.

3. Knavery

Yeah I'm looking on Fender's website and there's a guide regarding height for treble and bass side. They actually say it should be higher than it currently is... I shouldn't have gotten rid of my Lakland.

4. rfslick

rfslick

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. pedroims

pedroims

I do my own set up.

a) Set the neck. I use a capo in the first fret, press the last fret and mesure the space between the top of the 8th fret and the bottom of the E string, the gap should not be more than .013 or a business card. If higher turn the truss rod clockwise, if gap is less turn the rod counter clock. Turn the trus rod slowly, 1/8 at a time.