Setting up my first pedal board

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by HunterBurgan4Me, Feb 8, 2013.

1. HunterBurgan4Me

HunterBurgan4Me

So i've been playing bass without a pedalboard for about 7 years and never felt hard done by. But recently I've made up my mind to build one as having a tunerpedal would be useful and I'd like to be able to tweak things without having to go and twiddle knobs on my amp.

I'm buying a tuner pedal, an overdrive, a compressor and a second overdrive (one for full distortion one for slight crunchy sound)

So at the moment I have an Ampeg SVT7 head and I'm loving it.

At the back of my amp it has a "tuner out" and "FX send and return"

So if I've got all my pedals out front on a pedalboard do I need to plug them into different places? Like the two distortion pedals going straight into the amp the compressor going into the FX and the tuner going into the tuning slot?

So am I getting this wrong or is this going to require a lot of trailing leads?

and also if anyone wants some brownie points does anyone want to explain to me the attraction of chorus pedals? #

Thanks in advance guys

2. selowitch

selowitch

I think you can just go from the "effects out" port to the first pedal and then into the "effects in" port from the last pedal in the chain.

Chorus is nice for adding a touch of shimmer to your bass sound. It's nice if used sparingly. Definitely not for every song.

3. lijazz

lijazz

I would not use the return on the amp. Go bass>tuner>comp>OD>Dist>amp. Then is you get any more pedals you can slip them between each other depending on how much they affect tone. General rule is that the more the effect shapes the tone, the further along it should be in the signal chain.

4. cheapbasslovin

cheapbasslovin

Media:
    Albums: