1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

Setting up my man cave room with a microphone.

Discussion in 'Live Sound [BG]' started by marksrick, Jan 19, 2014.

1. marksrick

marksrick

Hi,
    First of all I am not a rocket scientist so please use the KISS formula on me!
    Here,s the deal and I dont even know if I am where I need to be to leave this thread.
    OK, I play bass and want to practice my vocals. I dont want to record.
    I am interested in a nice boom stand and good microphone. What else do you see that I dont? Cables! How do I hook up a microphone? Do I use my bass amp? Do I have to get a cd and amp separatly for this microphone? I dont want any interferance between my playing and singing.
    I just want to sit in my chair while practicing, play music and sing along into a microphone. Do I need a DJ set up? I dont know. Really would appreciate some feedback. This is a big deal to me. thanks , Mark renner.

2. Ukiah Bass

Ukiah Bass Supporting Member

You need to hear your bass and vocals at the same time. How you amplify your voice depends on how play at gigs: with a floor monitor or do you use in ear monitors?

If you're using IEMs, it's easy: get a Rolls PMD351 and plug your mic cable, CD player, and bass DI into that, and run your IEM from the same device to your ears.

If you use a floor monitor, you'll need a "mini PA" setup into which you plug your mic cable and CD player. A small practice amp with dual inputs may suffice as you won't need big volume. Run your bass through your standard rig.

Also, do you stand or sit at gigs? Practice singing and playing the same way. Your vocal chords will open up more if you stand and you'll be practicing the same way you perform.

3. Big_Daws

Big_Daws