Setup Advice

Discussion in 'Hardware, Setup & Repair [BG]' started by ctpunk, Feb 26, 2014.

1. ctpunk

ctpunk Supporting Member

Im relatively new to all this and need some advice. Im gonna send my P Bass in for a setup but am wondering which direction to go with the work ahead.

First off its a 4 string and I pretty confident thats what I prefer. I have smaller hands and put a Jazz neck on the bass for obvious reasons. I think a 5 string would just bring me back to square one and too big of a reach.

So with that said I also tune way down. Usually a whole step if not 2 whole steps down. Fan of Tool and COC type stuff and overall heavy and low.

Now for the questions. The neck right now is set up with a stock nut from fender. Should I consider replacing or modifying the nut to accommodate some heavier strings? If so what size are we talking?

Or should I even consider using the heavy B string that Vs use instead of using a standard E string size?

Your advice is appreciated. Feel free to correct me on any typos or flat out confusion. Its my Friday night. :D

2. 96tbird

96tbird This Indian movie is really boring man.

You can buy sets . for down tuning. Check them out.

You need to have an idea of what you want as your Standard tuning and pick your gauges accordingly. If you want to go B or C, .135 - .130 range. D, a little lighter can be used .130 - .120

That's just an idea. Every one has a different idea.

The nut slots should be filed to accept the wider strings. You don't need a new nut.

Whoever sets up the bass needs to know your tuning so make up your mind what is going to be standard for you and tell him so he can set it up properly. Every time you change tuning, it will affect the setup; you may get buzzing if you drop lower.

If you learn hoe to do it yourself you'll save money and have the joy of being a tweaker of the good kind. It's easy and you can dial your bass in exactly as you want it, not how a tech has to interpret how you say you want it.