Setups often?

Discussion in 'Hardware, Setup & Repair [BG]' started by adamsmatthewj, Jan 5, 2014.

1. adamsmatthewj

adamsmatthewj Supporting Member

How often are you guys tweaking your truss rod?

I know this has probably been covered before, but since we are in the coldest most unpredictable weather season (here in the northeast at least!) I am curious how often you guys feel like you're adjusting your setup?

To me, I feel like I'm turning my truss rod like once every 8 weeks. Idk, my bridge seems to be set very well, decently low and mostly correct radius, and my neck has graphite reinforcement bars, so I feel like I shouldn't have to mess with it. But lately I've been feeling like the action creeps up slowly on me every month and I have to adjust the truss rod down just a bit.

Thoughts? Ideas?

I'm NOT a setup expert, I understand the basics well, but any pros out there have some input?
  2. Ric5

Ric5 Supporting Member

I find that I usually have to adjust my basses at least twice a year due to seasonal humidity changes. Usually spring and fall. If you take your bass out and expose it to a lot of humidity changes and change the strings often then you may have to adjust more. A touring band will have a bass tech who will change string and check the setup of the bass and modify it as needed.
  3. deeptubes

deeptubes

I do mine twice a year as well.
  4. Kmonk

Kmonk

Disclosures:
    Endorsing Artist: Fender and Spector, Ampeg, Curt Mangan Strings
    I check mine every time I change strings which is about every 4 weeks. It usually doesn't need an adjustment unless there is a drastic change in humidity.
  5. Register to disable this ad
  6. pfox14

pfox14

I never adjust a truss rod unless the relief in the neck is off. Maybe twice a year. I only adjust saddle height to change the action, not the TR.
  7. adamsmatthewj

Yeah I live in upstate NY and right now my basses are going:

from a heated indoor practice room
    to a car in below-freezing temps