Sextuplets?

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by phii, Jan 11, 2013.

1. phii

phii

I have been playing the bass for only 6 months. Just the last day my teacher gave me an exercise for Sextuplets, means 2/3 notes, or combination of 3 notes that equivalent to 2 quarter notes. I spent all the afternoon with the metronome, but have never figured how to play it.

Is it's just too hard, or I'm too dull :(
  2. cnltb

cnltb

maybe you started too fast?
  3. backup

backup

this video of any help? at 6:00 you should be able to catch it easily
  4. BassyBill

BassyBill The smooth moderator... Supporting Member

Media:
    Post the exercise please. It sounds like you're talking about quarter note triplets (of which there are 6 in a 4/4 bar). The video that backup posted ^^^ is something completely different.
  5. Register to disable this ad
  6. Ed Fuqua

Ed Fuqua

Media:
    Albums:
    Disclosures:
    Chuck Sher publishes my book, WALKING BASSICS:The Fundamentals of Jazz Bass Playing.
    That's not right, three notes that are the equivalent of two quarter notes is a quarter note triplet. A sextuplet is 6 notes that are the equivalent of a quarter note.

Do you read music? There's a way to use the metronome to set the triplet up so you can hear it a little better, but it's easier to talk about (what amounts to) the metric modulation if it gets written out.
  7. Febs

Febs Supporting Member

To be a little more precise, there are two quarter note triplets in a 4/4 bar, comprising six quarter notes.
  8. Ed Fuqua

Ed Fuqua

Media:
    Albums:
    Disclosures:
    Chuck Sher publishes my book, WALKING BASSICS:The Fundamentals of Jazz Bass Playing.
    Febs, what you wrote is a little confusing, two quarter note triplets is not "compromising six quarter notes" , you gotta talk about the the little bracket with the 3 in it, and hopefully provide an illustration or it just gets to be a muddle....
  9. Ed Fuqua

Ed Fuqua

Media:
    Albums:
    Disclosures:
  10. Febs