Shen Gemunder 7/8

Discussion in 'Basses [DB]' started by PCprincipalbass, Dec 28, 2013.

1. PCprincipalbass

PCprincipalbass

Hey Talkbass community, I was wondering if anyone knows anything about Samuel Shens 7/8 size gemunder. If anyone has any comments about the bass I'd love to hear them. I've been looking into this bass for quite a while but I wanted to hear from other people's perspective.

Thanks, Landen
  2. csrund

csrund

Media:
    Landen,

I studied at IU back in the late 80s and early 90s. My playing lapsed for more than 20 years, when I decided to restart about 15 months ago. I had heard about the influx of Chinese instruments but had never experienced one personally when I began shopping around for a bass.

After a lot of research and speaking to former colleagues, the Shen basses emerged as a good candidate for an instrument for my personal use (i.e. good quality and very suitable for playing in a semi-pro community orchestra).

While poking around on the net, I found a decade-old Shen 7/8 Gemunder maple flatback listed on eBay by a pawn shop in Florida. I would never recommend anyone buy an instrument without first laying hands on it; however, in this case, the price was so extraordinarily good, that I took the risk. I drove about 1,200 miles round trip to bring it home. (It is no. 48 in the TB Shen Owner's Club: http://www.talkbass.com/forum/f1/shen-owners-club-778907/index17.html#post14538806 )

To answer your question (finally) I have found this instrument to be not just good, but remarkable. I'm using Helicore low-tension orchestral strings, and the bass responds very well under the bow and has a nice big sound in the section. The principal has told me it sounds very punchy and projects well, both arco and pizzicato. (Important to hear others' assessment, since our only perspective is with our ears perched above the instrument.)