Shocker: Grades are a better predictor of how a student will perform in college.

Discussion in 'Off Topic [BG]' started by MakiSupaStar, Feb 18, 2014.

1. MakiSupaStar

MakiSupaStar The Lowdown Diggler

2. Jeff K

Jeff K Supporting Member

In my case, high school grades would have kept me OUT of college. When I was in high school (and even Junior High), I was a horrible student. In fact, the term "student" was a misnomer for me. I didn't study. The only reason I ever carried a book home was to sit on to keep my *** dry if it was raining or snowing. Got barely passing grades.

After graduation, I went into the military for four years. After that, I was ready to go to college. Fortunately for me, because I was a veteran, they had to admit me despite my H.S. grades. I graduated college with High Honors, having earned all A's & B's the whole way through. It was attitude that made the difference. I WANTED to be there. And I wanted to be there to learn. (I also studied hard.) But I'd have never been admitted anywhere had it been based strictly on my H.S. grades.
  3. tplyons

tplyons

I was an awful high school student. Didn't find out I was graduating until the day of.

I improved a little in undergrad. I found out I was graduating the day before we walked.

In graduate school, I currently have a 3.91 GPA with three classes remaining.

It's so much easier when everything is a topic you care about.
  4. tastybasslines

tastybasslines Supporting Member

Where are you going to graduate school?
  5. Register to disable this ad
  6. tplyons

tplyons

Centenary College in New Jersey. It's a part time MBA program since there's no way I can justify two years off of work to go back full-time.
  7. Bocete

Bocete My E string is 36 1/4" long Supporting Member