1. Welcome to TalkBass 2014! If you're new here, we just went through a major site upgrade. Please post all concerns and bugs to the Forum Usage Issues forum. We will be monitoring that forum. Thank you for all of your feedback.

The TalkBass iphone/android app is NOT WORKING currently. We're working on it. Tapatalk IS working, so if you need to use an app, use Tapatalk. Try using your browser though - TalkBass is now 100% responsive to your phone/tablet screen size ;)

Please read the TalkBass 2014 FAQ for lots of great info on the new software.

Short Scale gauge suggestions for downtuning

Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by KayXero, Dec 8, 2013.

1. KayXero

KayXero

So Im new to short scales, and while I like the size of the bass body and neck, Im not fond of the strings as much as standard scale. The E isnt as tight as on my other bass.

What would you guys recommend for a good short scale string gauge? I wanna get a good thumping E without floppiness. Also is there a string out there that will allow me to down tune a full step without ending up in flop city?

And let me add that these strings are for a cheap SX project bass. So considering its a chinese made bass thats not of the best quality, do I need to be mindful of string tension damaging the bridge? Ive read stories of tight strings ripping the bridges off of cheap basses.

Thanks
  2. KayXero

KayXero

Advice bump
  3. 3234718

3234718 Supporting Member

Maybe try shortscale labella flats 45-105. Lots of thump. I wouldn't say the E is floppy, but it's not gonna be as tight as on a bass that's 4 inches longer.

Labella jamerson flats are like bridge cables, but tension that high isn't a great idea on a cheaper bass. I'd be more concerned about the neck bowing badly than the bridge ripping off.
  4. knuckle_head

knuckle_head

Disclosures:
    Owner; Knuckle Guitar Works & Circle K Strings