Short-scale Tuning Problem

Discussion in 'Hardware, Setup & Repair [BG]' started by Manuel_Cerda, Jan 24, 2013.

1. Manuel_Cerda

Manuel_Cerda

Hello All,

I'm not a musician but I'm always supporting my 13 year old soon on music. I read a bit and I provide whats he needs to play. He plays guitar since he was 9 and now he want to learn Bass.

I bough a budget ESP LTD Short-Scale 4 strings on-line.

My son tried tuning it and 2 of the strings just blow out.

My question is:

Can we tune the short-scale bass as same way as a full-size with EADG??

hope I placed this Q on the rigth forum.

Thanks.
  2. 202dy

202dy Supporting Member

Standard tuning is EADG, one octave lower than the guitar. Scale length does not affect this.
  3. funnyfingers

funnyfingers

My guess is that it was tune a good bit higher than EADG. Which strings snapped? Try tuning to a whole step lower and then check the tuning at the 12th fret. If the saddles aren't adjusted properly, the strings could be tighter than they need to be but I wouldn't see this snapping a string.
  4. Pilgrim

Pilgrim Supporting Member

If by "blow out" you mean "break", then the strings were tightened too much - probably tuned an octave too high as noted above.

Scale length is irrelevant - all basses use default tuning of GDAE from high to low string. (Same thing 202dy said, just noted from high to low). Playing each string with the string depressed on the 5th fret should yield the same note as the next higher string: E string on the 5th fret = A; A string on 5th fret = D, etc.

Once the open-string tuning is correct, you need to set intonation, meaning that the notes are correct as the musician plays notes on higher frets. The sticky posts at the top of the forum have links to helpful setup and intonation information.
  5. Manuel_Cerda

Manuel_Cerda

thanks guys for your timely answers.