1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.
  2. Search results may return 0 or few results. We are currently rebuilding the search index, may take a couple hours. Thank you for your patience!

Should a upright player get experience on the bass guitar?

Discussion in 'Ask Lynn Seaton' started by Mathewmiller, Jan 17, 2014.

1. Mathewmiller

Mathewmiller

Hello,

I am a current upright student who at the moment is in collage for jazz performance. I have been playing upright for about 3 years and came from playing the bass guitar (though I never really had much experience) I was wondering if you think it is a good idea to invest some time in playing my bass guitar of keep my focus on only practicing my upright. If it is a good idea to keep on the bass guitar would you subject getting a fret less bass? Would that be easer for an upright player, if so what would you recommend. My bass guitar is a fender jazz bass. I really don't want to put time into playing the electric bass, however if it is an importing skill to have I want to start my practice now.

Thanks,
    Mat miller

2. Nick303

Nick303

It's a strange question to ask, but it implies you think it's important. So I think you should, yes. It would make you a very enviable addition to any ensemble. Electric bass has been a key part of the jazz story for 50 years or so, so why limit yourself?
    I'd love to get experience on an upright, but I don't know whether I could manage it. I have a fretless jazz, but it seems a world away from an upright!

3. Ed Fuqua

Ed Fuqua

Disclosures:
    Chuck Sher publishes my book, WALKING BASSICS:The Fundamentals of Jazz Bass Playing.
    I REALLY hope you're typing with your thumbs.