1. Welcome to TalkBass 2014! If you're new here, we just went through a major site upgrade. Please post all concerns and bugs to the Forum Usage Issues forum. We will be monitoring that forum. Thank you for all of your feedback.

The TB Android app is working, you may need to uninstall/reinstall. The iPhone app is now updated and should work after you upgrade. TalkBass is responsive to any screen size, so we recommend using your mobile browser for full functionality.

Please read the TalkBass 2014 FAQ for lots of great info on the new software.

Should I drop the fretless?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by chris1125, Jan 15, 2013.

1. chris1125

chris1125 Supporting Member

So I've been playing electric for several years and use it for my jazz gigs along with my upright. I have a couple regular gigs with a big band and a combo. I recently purchased a custom, expensive fretless bass which is my go to. I've used it for every gig since I got it because it's such a great bass but I thought by now my playing would be more solid. I've had it for a few months and I'm still having trouble with intonation, especially in the big band where it's not solely improvised.

I have a fretted j bass that I used for those gigs until I got this bass but it's not the greatest bass. I'm thinking about moving the fretless to somebody who's better with it and getting a fretted but I'd feel bad, I got a great deal from the maker and it's still an incredible bass, I just wish I could play it more reliably.

Thoughts? Suggestions on how to improve fretless playing? I'm mainly an upright player and don't practice electric daily which is part of the problem but I just don't have the time unfortunately.
  2. singlemalt

singlemalt

Are you hurting for cash? If not, keep the bass you love, and make some more time for it.