Sick of being mediocre

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by MikeyMcMike, Feb 5, 2013.

1. MikeyMcMike

MikeyMcMike

Hey guys,

I have been playing bass for around 3/4 years now, I play in a touring band and I try to practice a few hours a day. The current standard I am at I feel is not good enough and I want to improve. I do realise that I need to practice more but I am asking for people's advice on what to practice, how to practice, techniques to nail, ways to improve on improv skills, ear training, remembering songs which I have learnt and stop mistakes.

I am just sick and tired of not fulfilling my full potential (in my opinion) and my guitarist friends showing me up on bass. I play in a rock (pop rock) band so all I have had to been is tight without doing anything spectacular. I do know my major scales.

My current standard, well to be totally honest it would take me an hour or two to nail a Muse song, I can play the simple stuff once stuff starts to get remotely technically I **** myself and mess up or it takes me hours to learn and I get frustrated at myself as I feel I should be able to play and learn the songs faster.

I have considered bass lessons but at the minute I cant exactly afford them, although should I bite the bullet and find the money from somewhere? What is a reasonable price for a 30 minute lesson?

I want to get better, I have the motivation, I even bought RockSmith for the Ps3 to see if that would help.

Any advice or tips would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks
  2. Mushroo

Mushroo

My advice is to learn and play as many songs as possible. This is the #1 most important musical skill, in my opinion. Just turn the radio on and jam along to your favorite station (or, sometimes for fun, your least favorite station!) and I guarantee within a few weeks you will notice a big improvement in all aspects of your musicianship: ear training, stamina, phrasing, rhythm, dynamics, vocabulary, technical execution, etc. :)