sight reading practice advice

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by mcdli861, Mar 4, 2014.

1. mcdli861

mcdli861

I am a third year bass student who is still very poor at sight reading. I am a competent bassist with a good knowledge of theory but I have always been very slack and un interested in sight reading until I was told at my University as of late June we will be getting assessed on our sight reading. We will be given sheet music on the morning of our assessment and then we have 10 minutes to look it over before we are put in a recording studio and told to perform the songs.

How does one go about becoming a competent at sight reader? What is some tips, tricks or just general advice you guys would give to someone like me? What are some good techniques for practicing sight reading? I am aware that I have a lot of hours of practice a head of me.

2. MalcolmAmos

MalcolmAmos Supporting Member

My two cents on Bass clef.
    Start with first position, first 4 frets.
    I zero in on the D line. Fly specks on or above the D line will be on the D and or G string. Fly specks below the D line will be on the A or E string.

Using the D line as my reference point seemed to speed things up.

Carry sheet music with you and read every chance you have. At lunch, when the TV commercials are on, etc.

Good luck.

3. Smallmouth_Bass

Smallmouth_Bass Supporting Member

You might also want to separate the rhythmic elements and notes to start. There are rhythm apps you can get to practice just that. Start with quarter note reading, starting in the lower positions and work your way up.

Get some trombone books. It's like reading words; you have to start slowly and practice consistently. Do a little (or a lot!) every day.

4. jallenbass

jallenbass Supporting Member

If you get to a part where you have to choose between getting the notes right or the rhythm go with rhythm.

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. Groove Master

Groove Master