1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

Sight reading

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by musicman777, Feb 15, 2014.

1. musicman777

musicman777

I have a question for all you music readers out there..
    I have been playing bass guitar for 35 years now..started playing when i was 12...Self taught and have developed into a well rounded solid bass player.
    I play by ear, Chord charts, number system...
    I have no problem playing just about anything i hear.

I want to expand into reading.. Actual reading of notes / sight reading..

Where would be a great place to start?

I have played live tons of times... too many to count or remember..
    and lots of studio work.. never really had the need arise to read notes as in actual sheet music ( not chord charts)..

BUt I feel it will definitely broaden my prospects up IF I do learn to sight read..

Thoughts....

2. smeet

smeet Gold Supporting Member

Berklee press has some good books for learning sight reading on bass. Try (simple) trombone and cello etudes too. Also, learn to write out some licks you already can play. You will learn a LOT by doing that.

In general, read as much as you can, at least a few minutes every day, no matter how easy or slow the material. If you are consistent, it will come more quickly than you may think.

Oh yeah- pitches are easy, that will come fast. Rhythms are the harder part. A drum rudiments book can come in handy for REALLY learning to read tricky rhythmic figures.

3. Stumbo

Stumbo Wherever you go, there you are.

4. fearceol

fearceol

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. davidhilton

davidhilton Supporting Member

hey dawg, u seem to have played a lot- why don't u post some recordings so we can hear where ur at. -d
    www.basslessonslosangeles.com

7. musicman777

musicman777