1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

Simple questions about audio interfaces

Discussion in 'Recording Gear and Equipment [BG]' started by Rufus95, Jan 27, 2013.

1. Rufus95

Rufus95

I am planning on buying an audio interface to record some guitar/bass "dry" and then apply effects/amplification in software like Waves GTR. Not looking for professional quality, just something to create a listenable demo with. :smug:

I have a few questions that I hope you guys can answer. I'm a complete newbie.

1) Some audio interfaces have a 1/4" instrument input jack, others only have an XLR input jack. How do I connect a guitar to an XLR input jack?

2) DI boxes, preamps. Where do these come in and do I really need one? What do they do exactly?

3) Since I am going to use software-amplification, does the input quality really need to be that good? This might be a stupid question but I'm assuming that since the biggest part of the sound is created software-side, that it shouldn't need very high input quality to create decent sound. Is that correct?

4) Is a USB interface best or should I get one that plugs into the mic-input on my laptop?

I appreciate all answers :) Please keep it as simple as possible, tell me only what I need to know.

2. ddnidd1

ddnidd1 Supporting Member

#3 Garbage in = garbage out

3. Rufus95

Rufus95

Thanks ddnidd1 for the answer
    Can anyone tell me about the other two questions?

4. ddnidd1

ddnidd1 Supporting Member

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. atheos

atheos

Using a DI box. But that wouldn't make any sense since you can and should buy an interface that has a built-in instrument input.