singing and playing at the same time

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by hernameisrio, Nov 21, 2012.

1. hernameisrio

hernameisrio

So it seems that as I evolve as a bassist, I will be expected to sing and play at the same time. I thiiink there's a sticky thread about this somewhere on TalkBass, which I'm hoping to find. But I wanted to ask something more specific...I understand that part of being able to sing and play at the same time, is being able to sort of split my brain up in such a way that I can concentrate on each of these things separately. To me, it "feels" like I'm paying proper attention to the notes/lyrics/timing, as it relates to the bass line/timing, and vice versa. But even though the "feel" seems right, it's almost like I can't really hear myself that well.

I really don't know how else to explain it...it's just this sense that my ear can't separate my voice from my bass line enough to tell if I'm doing it right. But it's not a volume thing... it's more about being able to discern the relationship in timing and pitch between the two.

Does that make sense? Has anyone else experienced this? Is there anything I can try when I practice, that would help me to get a better sense of things?
  2. Rockbassist4

Rockbassist4

When I first started I had a problem playing and singing at the same time. Then I read an article that said everytime you practice to just "mouth" the words without actually singing them. That way you are not focusing on singing in key. Start out with songs that you can play without thinking about what you are doing. As strange as it sounds, it worked for me. I can now sing while playing just about anything.
  3. two fingers

two fingers Loud Mouth Know It All Blowhard Gold Supporting Member