Singing and playing the bass solo, like how a guitar player does.

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by BrandenSteele, Nov 25, 2012.

1. BrandenSteele

BrandenSteele

Hello! I come from art-focused high school where a lot of guitarists, and I mean A LOT will perform with their guitars and sing.

As a bassist I decided why don't I give it a try with my bass? I got out my bass and learned a few nice bass solo riffs and sang.

Does anyone do or have tried performing solo with a bass and singing?
  2. Orangeclawhammr

Orangeclawhammr Supporting Member

I do it at open mics all the time. If I was the only bass player you knew, you'd think bass is strictly a solo instrument for accompanying a solo singer. Needless to say, my arrangements are pretty sparse. Coffee house crowds like my rendition of "Boris the Spider".
  3. joelb79

joelb79

They would love it out here in Lansing too.. if you come this way.
  4. Gitaaroverlast

Gitaaroverlast

Does this count? Not a bass of course, but the man is basically playing bass line's.

Register to disable this ad
  5. BrandenSteele

BrandenSteele

Indeed it would count. This is a pretty great tune he's got going.

What do you guys think of tuning a 5 string to EADGC for the purpose of soloing?
  6. ojo

ojo Supporting Member

When I had a fiver, I strung it that way so I could play clean chords for writing purposes. I say, "Go for it!"
  7. BrandenSteele

BrandenSteele

8. Diesel Kilgore

Diesel Kilgore

Do it. I cant even imagine trying that. I have great respect for anyone who can play an instrument and sing too.
  9. bassbenj

bassbenj