Singing what you're improvising?

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by Tupac, Dec 4, 2012.

1. Tupac

Tupac

It looks like a simple thing to do, but it dawned on me how much musical maturity it much take to be able to do this. To be able to know exactly what sound is going to come out of the interval you play, that's pretty nuts. It's TM Stevens's signature thing, and Flea used to do it a lot. Anyone else amazed by this?
  2. lowfreq33

lowfreq33

Disclosures:
    Endorsing Artist: Genz Benz Amplification
    That's George Benson's thing as well. He said he originally did it on a dare.
  3. Portphilia

Portphilia

I think jazz cats were the first to start doing this. I know Slam Stewart was famous for doing this while playing his double bass arco (with a bow).
  4. Luke19Boarder

Luke19Boarder

The guy I studied with for a while in high school (great jazz bassist) did that a lot. I'm much more modest with my voice, so I didn't really catch on with it at the time, but now sometimes when I'm coming up with a bassline, and it's not quite coming out how it does in my head, I'll hum it while I play ... usually helps.
  5. Register to disable this ad
  6. bolophonic

bolophonic

7. debris

debris

Yeah, it's incredible to hear that from someone who's really trained their relative pitch. Not a terribly common occurrence.
  8. BuffaloBass

BuffaloBass Supporting Member

Vic W does this on a tune in Soul Circus, and it kind of blew me away, due to the complexity. I think we all "hear" the lines to some extent, some more than others. As a stinky amatuer non-player type, I still try and play what I sing, er hum. But then again, I learned the way most of did in the 70's, copping it all from others. So ear training was the starting point. I remember as a 10 yr old humming the lines and trying to find the notes on the fingerboard. Don't we all!?