single cut bolt on 5er build - advice and thoughts appreciated.

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by BarkerBass, Sep 20, 2012.

1. BarkerBass

BarkerBass

Hello tb!

The building bug has struck me again and my eye has fallen upon my Yamaha bb605. My trusted old 5er has served me well for years and gone through some serious mods but I've decided to take it one step further and build it a whole new (single cut) body.

Because of money constraints and the availability of wood in this country (very hard to find) I've had to build the bass from planks of Ash bought from a furniture shop and so the bass will need a solid coloured finish as the planks look ugly as heck. My aim for this project is to create a tone like an ibanez btb556, barts, like a super jazz tone, big and ballsy.

This is a concept I've been playing through my head for a few months now and my phone has helped me try and work on some ideas. Here comes a lot of crap quality phone photoshop work to see the colour options. Bare with me in that this is a rough design and not a very good show of what I have in mind.

This is the initial photoshop mockup I made (when i hoped for a natural wood finish)
    [​IMG]
    single cut, pickups enclosed in a ramp - yamaha bb605 neck and bridge
    double cut version (just incase the single cut doesn't work out well.
    [​IMG]

and this is the most recent version:
    [​IMG]
    solid sonic blue, bartolini double coil soapbars, no ramp, east pro preamp

Here are some phone made colour mock ups, thoughts?

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

I am under no illusions that this will be a high class build, my builds are usually functional at best, my main concerns are tone and playability (including balance) and I'm hoping to improve the tone with the electronics and the neck plays great anyway so that shouldn't be too hard.

anyway, enough rambling, what do you think?

Cheers, BB
  2. lbridenstine

lbridenstine