Single Humbucker Basses!

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by MisterStompy, Mar 13, 2012.

1. MisterStompy

MisterStompy

Hello!

I've been playing for a couple years, and as with probably many bassists, I've searched for that tone that makes me happy. Well, it wasn't until earlier this week, when a trend finally dawned on me, from that bassist researching, youtube watching, and music store playing - the sounds that I really like, most of the time, come from four-string basses with a single humbucker, close-ish to the bridge. I love that bright, clear tone.

I play metal, but also other things.

I don't actually have one of the aforementioned basses, but I plan to soonish!

I know, I know, there are plenty of basses with two humbuckers, and if I only use the bridge one it's pretty much the same, and I've occasionally had a positive experience with that. But somehow, and this is probably completely psychological, it doesn't seem quite right.

Other limitations apply. As a student, cheaper is better (a full-blown musicman is out of the question, unless someone is selling a used one at an incredibly good price). And lighter is better too. I'm not the biggest bassist in the world, and a have to often spend a fair bit of time standing, and dealing with the pain involved. I don't think I could get anything heavier than a run-of-the-mill P bass.

So I've scoured the Internet, and have found the following basses:

Ibanez GSR100EX (played it, nice and light)
    Ibanez ATK series (are all of them so monstrously heavy? If they made an antigravity version, I wouldn't even be posting this, I would have bought an ATK already)
    Kramer Disciple (never even seen one in real life, but lightweight, and active electronics good)
    Squire Jaguar Humbucker Version
    Fleabasses (And I've found this board to have...mixed opinions on this. I have no idea how much this weighs either. But I find its looks endearing. All of a sudden, all the Fleabasses disappeared.)