Six to seven?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Parkerblades, Mar 15, 2014.

1. Parkerblades

Parkerblades

I'm thinking of switching to try a seven string. Don't really need it but thought it might be fun to play around with. Any of you went from six to seven strings? How was it did the extra width hinder you any or did you find that you never used the seventh string? Just kicking the idea around. Thanks.

2. superbassman2000

superbassman2000

I went from a six to a seven...I like the high F :)

3. Parkerblades

Parkerblades

Cool thanks for the input. I am thinking I will like it also. I play a lot of music that the low bass parts are not so much needed so I tend to play a lot of chord shapes and stuff in those parts. I think the extra range will give me more options in that part of the music. But I do like to here from experienced players that have been on both sides.

4. bassbenj

bassbenj

Well, I'm a 7 string noob too so I don't know how much this helps.

What I found was not that i never use the 7th string but rather I didn't know what to do with it! In other words the notes were there but my knowledge of them is what was lacking. Sure I can extend the cross neck scales to infinity and that is cool, but if you've learned some chords for 6 string it takes some woodshed to get up to 7 string knowledge I've found. Plus the notes up the 7th string (like for stratospheric solos) are unfamiliar teritory too. So I'm working on it and I DO love it! But play out with it? Not yet.