1. Welcome to TalkBass 2014! If you're new here, we just went through a major site upgrade. Please post all concerns and bugs to the Forum Usage Issues forum. We will be monitoring that forum. Thank you for all of your feedback.

The TB Android app is working, you may need to uninstall/reinstall. The iPhone app is now updated and should work after you upgrade. TalkBass is responsive to any screen size, so we recommend using your mobile browser for full functionality.

Please read the TalkBass 2014 FAQ for lots of great info on the new software.

Sixties model Portaflex B-15N

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by kd5uwl, Aug 24, 2013.

1. kd5uwl

kd5uwl

Bass friends,

I found my dad's old guitar player who has the bass amp I grew up hearing. I started playing bass about three years ago after picking up dad's old bass. He died in 2001 and this amp has been in the corner of a room at his guitar player's house since the last time they practiced together, probably 25 years ago.

I haven't seen it in probably 35 years and I am going to pick it up tomorrow, a sixties model B-15N .. not sure exactly what year yet until I see it again so I don't know which exact model of B-15N it is.

My question: I'd like to take my bass and play with this guy while I am there. I doubt I'll have room to bring my own bass amp into his house. Would I be ok to turn on the old Ampeg and play it? Or should I never turn it on until I recap it?

Second question: I'm only assuming I'll find some electrolytics in there .. anyone have a schematic?

Thanks in advance!
    kd5uwl
  2. B-string

B-string Supporting Member