SL900 Dead!!

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by Sav'nBass, Dec 15, 2012.


  1. Sav'nBass

    Sav'nBass Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2009
    Location:
    Northern Va.
    Yikes!! My 900 is dead. Any suggestions.. I am so screwed here.. I need to use this tomorrow.. it was fine yesterday. Time to get a back up amp.
  2. nostatic

    nostatic Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2004
    Location:
    los angeles, CA
    Disclosures:
    Endorsing Artist: FEA Labs, Jule Amps
    Plug into the effects return and see if you get any sound.
  3. Sav'nBass

    Sav'nBass Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2009
    Location:
    Northern Va.
    Hey that worked.. So what is that telling me.. that the line from the input to the effects line is dead or could it be a fuse?
  4. nostatic

    nostatic Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2004
    Location:
    los angeles, CA
    Disclosures:
    Endorsing Artist: FEA Labs, Jule Amps
    Probably a bad preamp tube.
  5. Register to disable this ad
  6. B-string

    B-string Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2008
    Location:
    Lake Havasu City, Az USA
    Now loop an instrument cable from effects send to effects return and plug your bass into the normal input.
  7. Sav'nBass

    Sav'nBass Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2009
    Location:
    Northern Va.
    No joy there.. I did notice that the preamp functions do not work gain etc.
  8. Sav'nBass

    Sav'nBass Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2009
    Location:
    Northern Va.
    I seem to remember a post about changng tubes not voiding the warranty.. I think i still have a warranty on this.
  9. B-string

    B-string Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2008
    Location:
    Lake Havasu City, Az USA
    Yes, the preamp section is faulty (you know the power amp works 'cause you plugged into the effects return). If it has a pre tube it could be bad or loose, could also be just a simple inter-connect cable. PM agedhorse he can walk you through the problem. :)
  10. Hapa

    Hapa

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2011
    Location:
    Fort Collins, CO
    Disclosures:
    Bass Industry guy, currently a free agent
    swap the tube. If you are hearing signal when plugging into the back then it is almost a positive fix. If it was working yesterday and today it isn't...It could have become unseated vs fully blown.
  11. Sav'nBass

    Sav'nBass Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2009
    Location:
    Northern Va.
    I'll try that..
  12. Hapa

    Hapa

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2011
    Location:
    Fort Collins, CO
    Disclosures:
    Bass Industry guy, currently a free agent
    You are correct sir.
  13. Sav'nBass

    Sav'nBass Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2009
    Location:
    Northern Va.
    I noticed the 2 & 3 tubes are 12AX7 tubes.. The 1 tube is different.. will that make a difference? I also noticed that the blue LEDS do not light and that usual click you here when the warm up protect LED goes out does not happen.

    No joy there either.
  14. B-string

    B-string Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2008
    Location:
    Lake Havasu City, Az USA
    Did you PM agedhorse? He is a applications engineer for Genz Benz and helps out here all the time.
  15. Sav'nBass

    Sav'nBass Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2009
    Location:
    Northern Va.
    Yeah I was going to but usually he seems to pop up like the Allstate guy.. ;)
  16. B-string

    B-string Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2008
    Location:
    Lake Havasu City, Az USA
    When time is tight....."like a good neighbor, State Farm is there" :D Gotta nudge things some. :)
  17. Sav'nBass

    Sav'nBass Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2009
    Location:
    Northern Va.
    Done.. In the meantime I will have to go through the effects channel for tomorrow morning.. All the tubes seem to light up though.. at least they have an orange glow.. so maybe it is something more than just a bad tube.
  18. B-string

    B-string Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2008
    Location:
    Lake Havasu City, Az USA
    Could be just a loose or corroded flat cable? I don't know the interior/or design of Genz amps at all. I have heard of flat inter-connect cable problems on some of Genz units though.
  19. Sav'nBass

    Sav'nBass Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2009
    Location:
    Northern Va.
    It looks pristine inside.. the first tube that I thought was a different tube is actually one of these so apparently all 3 are 12AX27s.. I will go to GC after the morning services are over.
  20. agedhorse

    agedhorse Development Engineer-Mesa, Product Support-Genz Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Bummer man, sorry to hear about this.

    If the tube warmup led does not go out or you do not hear the amp's relay click when the amp comes out of warmup mute, there may be something more than a tube that has failed. Normally, it just a bad tube.

    I will pm you some options tomorrow regarding sorting this out, as I am in the middle of a gig right now.
  21. B-string

    B-string Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2008
    Location:
    Lake Havasu City, Az USA
    You the man agedhorse! Sorry about about getting the job title wrong, first thing to go is the memory ya know :D

Share This Page