1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

Slapping question

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by indridcoldxx, Mar 3, 2014.

1. indridcoldxx

indridcoldxx

hi everyone, I am a new bassist and I've been falling in love with slapping, it is so much fun. However my current bass is a Yamaha RBX170, I find slapping on it a bit hard because the strings are so close to each other (like slapping from e to a, I always end up slapping the E by accident because my thumb is big)
    Is this a normal thing I need to get use to? Or is it the bass itself?

I was planning on getting a Ray 34 to get better, dont know if the strings are father apart.

Thanks!

2. Duckwater

Duckwater

Keep practicing, I used to own one of those basses and it was very playable. I can slap and double thumb on a guitar when I want to, it's all about small and precise movements.

3. indridcoldxx

indridcoldxx

thank you, is there a method I can employ to stop accidentally hitting the e string?

4. DerTeufel

DerTeufel

Try striking closer to the string that you want to hit. I had the same problem that you did at first, but kept working on my accuracy. What Duckwater suggested works very well..small and precise movements. If you are flailing your hand about, it can be hard to make sure that you hit the intended string.

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. indridcoldxx

indridcoldxx

Thank you for the advice, ill try being a bit more precise now.

As for the Ray 34, im just about to buy it, do you think playing on a bass of this caliber will help me get better?

7. DerTeufel

DerTeufel