'Slaving'

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by Precision345, Feb 10, 2014.

1. Precision345

Precision345 Supporting Member

Hi Tb,

I'm new to 'slaving' and I need some help. I have never done this before but I recently purchased a Traynor ts50b and I would like to use it in conjunction with my traynor dynabass 400 and ampeg 4x10.

From what I've read I can use the ts50b as a 'primary' or 'tone amp' and the dynabass as the 'power amp'. If anyone can give me a walkthrough on how to do this safely and correctly it would be much appreciated.

I think I know how to do it but I just want to make sure I'm doing it right.
  2. Selta

Selta

Disclosures:
    Uncompensated endorsing user: EBMM
    I don't know either of those amps, but there is usually preamp out / poweramp in jacks on the back that you would use.
  3. Mr. Foxen

Mr. Foxen

Disclosures:
    Amp tinkerer at Ampstack
    TS50b appears to have a line out, Use that to the FX return or power amp in of the other amp.
  4. robd

robd Supporting Member

Send "Line out" on the 50 to "amp in" on the dynabass
  5. Register to disable this ad
  6. RickenBoogie

RickenBoogie

Not familiar with either amp, but if they are all-tube, you'll need a load connected. Don't run a tube amp without a proper load, (spkrs), or the amp will burn up.
  7. Precision345

Both are solid state although the traynor dynabass has a tube pre amp
  8. Precision345

Do I need something to act as a speaker load for the ts50 so I don't fry the output transformer? I've read that, 'if you’re considering doing this with an old-school amp without any type of direct out or effects loop, you can’t just bypass the amp’s speaker output without potentially seriously damaging – if not destroying – your amp’s output transformer!'

Does the line-out act as a direct out?
  9. Selta

Selta

Disclosures:
    Uncompensated endorsing user: EBMM