Smoking a brisket

Discussion in 'Off Topic [BG]' started by sandmangeck, Sep 15, 2013.

1. sandmangeck

sandmangeck

I've picked up a 10 lb brisket. Cut to perfection. It will be my first time smoking it. Any suggestions or tips? I'll post play by play pics.
  2. tastybasslines

tastybasslines Supporting Member

I'm no expert, but my FB friends who post their results usually smoke for at least 16-18 hours, sometimes a whole day.
  3. Tat2dHeart

Tat2dHeart Only two strings away from an attitude problem. Gold Supporting Member

Briskets go low and slow. Don't try to rush it.
  4. metalhead398

metalhead398

+about 3. Any shorter and it won't have the tenderness and flavor you're after.
  5. Register to disable this ad
  6. bkbirge

bkbirge Supporting Member

Disclosures:
    Endorsing Artist: Steak n Shake
    I'm not an expert but I've done this a few times in the backyard smoker. 8-10 hours of low heat, to the side of the burning coals, not directly on top. Very minimal checking, don't want to let the heat out. Fatty side up to drip on the rest of it as it cooks. Soak those wood chips in water and don't add too many or too often. I only add chips to the burn 2 or 3 times during the whole time. I also like a dry rub before I lay my business down. Brisket BBQ is a religion around here in Texas and there are lots of people way better than I am but those are the basics as I understand them and I've had good results. A guy I know finishes it up in the oven for the last hour with some water in the drip pan, says it takes it to the pure juiciness heaven but I haven't tried it.
  7. Vince Klortho

Vince Klortho

Ten pounds is a bit large for a brisket, a little larger than most people smoke. They usually use smaller cuts. First, I should mention that I watch lots of shows on the tube about barbecuing and do it myself a lot too so here is a common method.