So I played a Guy Cole and I Think I fell in love

Discussion in 'Basses [DB]' started by Mgaisbacher, Dec 1, 2013.

1. Mgaisbacher

Mgaisbacher Supporting Member

On friday I took a trip to Upton's shop in Connecticut. It was mostly just to play some basses since I just recently had Brescian hybrid built by them. Actually at this time last year I don't even think I placed the order so that goes without saying that the bass it just a little over a half year old. I love my upton and plan to have it for a long time if not forever but in the back of my head I know eventually I will want a fully carved bass.

So when I got there I started playing some of their basses first, starting with a fully carved brescain since I figured it would be the most comparable to my bass. I enjoyed playing their basses and could tell the difference between my hybrid and the fully carved brescain. Even though I really enjoyed playing there basses there wasn't one that I played that really stuck out to me as something I really loved, or something that I wish I could of taken home with me.

The I finally made my way to the Guy Cole which I had been eying up since I got there. The first note I played just filled the room and put a smile on my face. It had belcontos on it which I never really played before, I'm more a of a jazz spiro guy. Even with the belcontos it had a very full powerful sound with pizz and sung in the upper register. Then I played it arco which my arco playing isn't very strong but my go to thing to play is a F major scale in 3 octaves (since it covers mostly the whole register of the bass) and then play some of prelude to the 1st cello suite. Both of these things just seemed to effortlessly come out of the instrument. And the upper register just was so clear and perfect sounding. I could go on for much longer about this bass and I didn't even touch on it's looks or really how it played.