So I'm doing a complete scene transition...

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by jordy_on_bass, Nov 30, 2012.

1. jordy_on_bass

jordy_on_bass

Hey guys, not sure if a lot of these questions are in the right forum. So mods if you wish to move it, please don't hesitate!

Anyways, I've been a bassist for about 8 years. Mostly playing in heavy metal and hard rock bands and writing original music. Recently I moved back to a place I was living for a couple of years and re-connected with a couple old band mates. Whilst the music written has been kick ass, I have thoroughly had enough. I bought a guitar rig for one of the guitarists to buy off me for a fairly cheap price, yet I didn't received a cent whilst they used it, we have no drummer, one of them has needed to get his guitar fixed for months yet it hasn't happened and also the general dismissal of 99% of my ideas. These guys just sit around smoking weed, playing video games and play guitar whilst collecting welfare. Whilst I haven't exactly 'quit' that band (and wont as of yet), I am putting it on the back-burner indefinitely - well, basically until they get their act together.

A few weeks ago I was approached by a friend of a friend. Like me, he has recently moved back here and he used to play a lot of gigs with cover bands and wanted to get back into it since he used to make a good living off of it. He asked me if I would be interested in playing bass for a pop rock/modern radio cover band. Being slightly fed up with my current situation, I accepted. I went over to his house to just have a drums and bass session with a few songs we both knew (luckily, he is like a juke box. I don't know much popular music). He said that in the short time we had a jam, he could easily see that I could play bass in the band.

Here are a whole bunch of questions I would like to ask guys who are playing in cover bands, have been in a similar situation or can basically answer any of my queries: