1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

So whats the deal with live shows today?

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by WavyGravy, Jan 30, 2013.

1. WavyGravy

WavyGravy

So I've been playing for around 5 years now, and all I've ever owned was a little practice amp. I'm planning to buy a nice amp ATM because I'm planning to start gigging with some bands soon, and I've just began to wonder. Do all small to modest sized venues have P.A systems to plug into nowadays? Because I'd rather buy a nice little bass and cab and plug into the PA then dish out serious money into a huge 2000W rig.

So hypothetically, I buy a chill little head and comb o of 200 watts and use it to gig by just plugging it into the PA system of the venue. What are the flaws/misconseptions/errors here?

Correct me on anything I've said, i'm super new to this subject and have only a fundamental understanding of how P.A's and amps work.

2. will33

will33

Disclosures:
    Use of this field for any other purpose is prohibited
    Consulting fellow New Yorker's is probably your best bet in this case. I would think in a city like that with lots of mass transit, a lot of population regularly getting around without cars, etc., it would be common for most clubs to have installed PA systems capable of carrying bass. In that case, a little rig like you describe may be a good idea. You'd need enough for your band to hear you on stage only, don't have to carry the room and need something small enough to take on a subway/bus, etc.