So what's the difference in a "good amp" and a "bad amp"?

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by two fingers, Nov 25, 2012.

1. two fingers

two fingers Loud Mouth Know It All Blowhard Gold Supporting Member

I did a search and turned up nothing exactly like this, but if there is a thread please link me. Thank you.

I'm talking real nuts and bolts here. What kinds of components, in general, are different in well-built, high-quality amps as opposed to cheaper amps. I am studying electronics in school. To me, a resistor is a resistor (other than tolerances). But on an electronics level, what kinds of things are used in better sounding amps that aren't used in lower quality amps?

And while we're on the subject, why is hand wiring such an amazing thing? I have had my hands on hundreds of circuit boards, both hand wired and machine wired. And to me, ones done by robots are almost always neater, and have great connections. I have had to "fix" many more problems on hand wired stuff than I ever have on machine wired boards. Granted, my experience is still very limited, but I wish someone would tell me what the hype about hand wired is, in REAL electronic terms and not just romantic ideals. Don't get me wrong. I'm not knocking the craftsmanship and pure intellect that goes into sitting down with a bunch of parts and making a sweet sounding amp by hand out of that pile of parts. It's impressive. But is the finished product BETTER just BECAUSE it was hand wired? (I'm not arguing a point. I truly don't know so I'm asking.)

By the way, I understand market positioning, brand name, "boutiqueness" and all that. I'm not interested in a conversation about how brands have managed to overprice their products. When I say "better" I literally mean amps that sound better regardless of price point or past reputation.

Thanks!
  2. Tuned

Tuned