So, you build a custom tube amp. What features/options would you give it?

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by Drop-D, Nov 1, 2013.

1. Drop-D

Drop-D Supporting Member

Hey all,

I am in need of some inspiration. I am looking into having a custom tube amp built in the coming year. I played a SVT, on loan, when I first started playing bass in a regularly gigging band and have been missing the sound I had in that first year of gigging ever since.

Now, the obvious option available to me would be to purchase my own SVT. But, after spending a number of years playing a handful of amps I have experienced a number of things I both liked and disliked about amps in general. I've been playing GK heads for a couple years now and have no true complaints other than missing the warmth and breakup goodness of an honest tube amp. So, I've shopped around and gotten a few quotes but find myself stupefied by the idea of choosing options and features to my liking. The idea isn't so strange, however, as I am very familiar with the idea of a custom bass.

So, what about you? If you were looking into having your own custom amp built what kinds of features/options would you request? Was there ever anything you found yourself wanting with your favorite amp? Or have you possibly found an amp you could of almost loved..but felt it was lacking something?

2. will33

will33

Disclosures:
    Use of this field for any other purpose is prohibited
    Non-master volume only...let it be what it is. 2, 4, & 8 ohm taps. Volume knob. The rest....whatever.....maybe 300-400 watt power section with a 1/2 power/shut off half the tubes switch.....that'll change your outout taps.

3. mbelue

mbelue

Sounds good but I'd like an all tube compressor on board. No preamp drive at all, clean until power tube grind. Baked in gentle roll off of treble at 6kHz kinda like the GK 2001rbp's switch. But the treble roll off only needs to apply to the instrument input, not the effects loop in the back.

4. T-Bird