Solid State amps with huge power?

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by ledyard, Aug 23, 2013.

1. ledyard

ledyard

I just tried my first Carvin B1500. I got it because it can do 2 ohm and I'm running two 810 cabs. This is my first time in probably 14 years having a solid state amp. The band I'm using it in is heavier music so I kind of like the solid state attack I haven't had in years.
    So since I have not paid attention to anything solid state in a very long time I was wondering what else is out there in this market that's newer? ie: Big power, 2 ohm capable solid state other than the B1500? Or even older amps with capable power like the Acoustic 370. I know their wattage rating is no where near the B1500 but we all know you can almost blow walls down with one.

2. CL400Peavey

CL400Peavey Supporting Member

Media:
    Albums:
    The Carvin B2000 is another option. Might be able to find an Ampeg SVT 8 pro. Realistically you move to a power amp. Is the B1500 not getting loud enough through two 810's for you?

3. JimmyM

JimmyM Supporting Member

Disclosures:
    Endorsing: Ampeg Amps, EMG Pickups
    Best SS head I've played that fits your bill is the SVT 4 Pro.

4. CL400Peavey

CL400Peavey Supporting Member

Media:
    Albums:
    Thats what 500 a side at 4 Ohms?

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. MCS4

MCS4 Supporting Member

If you're willing to move to a preamp + power amp setup, there are tons of options. Plus, there are a variety of power amps at that wattage or higher that have two independent channels (and thus more potential flexibility in terms of cab impedence, and the ability to adjust the volume of each cab independently).

7. JimmyM

JimmyM Supporting Member

Disclosures:
    Endorsing: Ampeg Amps, EMG Pickups
    4 Pro specs:

Mono bridged, 1600w @ 4 ohms, 1200 @ 8

2 x 900 @ 2 ohms
    2 x 625 @ 4
    2 x 300 @ 8

All wattages RMS.

8. birminghambass

birminghambass Supporting Member

The most powerful I've had:
    SVT4 Pro
    SVT 6 Pro