Solo Rep Suggestions?

Discussion in 'Orchestral Technique [DB]' started by APeck, Jan 17, 2013.

1. APeck

APeck

Hello -

I'm a Music Education Masters student, but I'm choosing to continue to study privately and be active in the university orchestra. I was wondering if you all could give me any suggestions for solo rep to work on in the next few semesters.

Last semester I worked primarily on the Koussevitsky Concerto, just the first movement, to give an idea of playing level. Honestly, I'd rather have rep that's a bit more readable, if that makes sense. I had never attempted a concerto before, and I think I probably should have tried something a bit less meaty first! I'm not going to be performing on anything more than an informal recital, so I'm just looking for a few things that would be enjoyable to work on.

I am looking to do another concerto at some point, but I'd like suggestions from any category. Also, if the sheet music is available on IMSLP that would be a bonus. Thanks in advance!
  2. Andrew McGregor

Andrew McGregor

Bach Suites? Pick your movements carefully, don't just start at the beginning. The *last* movement of the 1st suite is quite playable, and there are other relatively straightforward ones. Bach is always musically difficult, even if not always technically difficult.

The Eccles Sonata is very approachable. Hindemith less so, but the 1st movement isn't so difficult.
  3. eerbrev

eerbrev

the Bottesini Elegy (in D, though there are two others) is around the level you're talking about. +1 for the Eccles as well. You might want to look at one of the classical concertos as well, maybe the Dittersdorf or the Vanhal. They're a lot of fun to play, as well as a pleasant challenge.

There's also the Misek sonatas and the Fuchs Sonata which are good.
  4. Simandl Fan

Simandl Fan

I recommend the Marcello and Vivaldi sonatas. They are very playable yet challenging. They don't go into thumb position, and they all lie well on the bass.