Some advice: Gallien Krueger vs. Baer

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by willsellout, Jan 19, 2013.

1. willsellout

willsellout

So I've narrowed it down to these two brands (mostly). I looked at the fEARful stuff and don't really think they are what I'm looking for, although the Dually is still in contention, and I've spoken to JHawk customs about it.

About me: I'm a rock bassist and won't ever be doing anything else but rock/funk type stuff. I like a rock tone with lots of mids and a punchy low end so the Baer seems like a good choice....but so does the GK Neo 112's and 212's.

I play a Mesa Mpulse 600 and a GK 800RB, but the Mesa might not be around forever. So the GK cabs are cheap enough that I can use the full range 400 watts of the 800RB (maybe a 212 and a 112 on top, or 3 112's for ultimate flexibility) and be plenty loud.

The reason I mention loud is because I play in a LOUD rock band. I know the Baer will be able to keep up without issue. I think with 2 or 3 112's or a 212/112 setup will be able to compete just as well.

So I'm at an impasse. The Baer is a few hundred more than any GK configuration I'm considering. I'm curious to get a little info and see if that price is justified for me. I'm open to advice or ideas. I've done a ton of research and reading on here but I'm thinking some outside perspective might help.

So what do you think?
  2. Marko5657

Marko5657 Supporting Member

3. Unrepresented

Unrepresented Something Borderline Offensive Supporting Member

Media:
    Curious about the answer myself. I really dig my NV610, but the idea of a lighter alternative sounds intriguing.

My sonic needs sound very, very similar to yours.
  4. chuck3

chuck3

the Baer ML 212? That's the one I'm looking at.
  5. Mulebagger

Mulebagger Gold Supporting Member

Disclosures:
    Endorsing Artist: Zon Guitars, DR Strings, GK