1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

Some PA questions from a newb. EV content.

Discussion in 'Live Sound [BG]' started by nogoodwithnames, Mar 25, 2014.

1. nogoodwithnames

nogoodwithnames

Hello, let me preface by saying I have no experience putting together a PA. However, recently our drummer who happens to be a professional soundman had to quit due to time constraints. Needless to say, he had been providing the PA.
    So I have decided to step into the role of providing the sound reinforcement. So far I have decided on and purchased a Mixwiz 3 mixer as it seems to have a great rep. Haven't received it yet so no input there.

My question is about the speakers themselves. I'm fairly certain I'm going to be going with 2 EV zlx12p powered mains and EV elx18p subs.
    What I'm curious about is do I "need" 2 subs or will 1 suffice for now? Id like to use the money saved on some decent monitors, then maybe add another sub later after recouping some of my investment. I have some old unpowered carvin monitors but they're certainly not anything to write home about. I know this may be impossible to answer, but I just want to hear opinions.

Also any opinions on the ev speakers in general are welcome. I know they aren't great, but they aren't bottom of the barrel and they have great reviews. And any recommendations or ideas for stuff that I'm going to need but don't even know it yet? As stated, I've no experience at this. thanks!

2. repoman

repoman

I'm also in the same boat as you...sort of tasked to build a decent sound system/PA set up for my band. I am very interested in what is going to be posted here, even if it is just links to previous threads about starting from scratch to build a PA for a band.

3. nogoodwithnames

nogoodwithnames