Songs for acoustic guitarist and singer

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by belzebass, Mar 18, 2014.

1. belzebass

belzebass

Hi, fellow brothers (and sisters) in bass (or is it in bath, oh, nevermind)!

First of all, put away your rotten tomatoes, please, I'm a bassist who sometimes plays guitar (and not the opposite).

A singer from my former project (and a good friend, too) asked me to learn some songs on acoustic guitar and accompany him while he sings. Why not?!

He is a huge Killers fan, and proposes mostly sentimental (read whiny) songs.
    I proposed "Faith" by George Michael and Bruno Mars' "Locked out of heaven", and short of ideas now :)

I ask bassists because we are often more reasonable and audience-oriented in song choice than stuck-in-the-70s guitarists :bassist:

I would like some modern tunes with immediately recognizable hooks to get (urban european twenty-someting) audience interested. Or well known classic tunes that are not too overused (so no "No woman no cry" or "Talking about revolution").

Style doesn't matter really, it might as well be electronic or dance or rock or reggae or hipster-folk (though I don't have a beard :D )

And please bear in mind that the guitarist is on the lower side of mediocre :rollno:

Any ideas/propositions?

Thanks a lot!

2. Joe Louvar

Joe Louvar

Pick songs targeting the venue customers - in other words, go checkout the jukeboxes and whatnot at the places you intend to work at.

3. pklima

pklima

If you can get the singer to buy into it, I'd start with classic 90s Eurodance and some early 2000s dance hits.
    "Be My Lover" - La Bouche
    "I'm Too Sexy" - Right Said Fred
    "No Limit" - 2 Unlimited
    "Get Busy", "Temperature" and "We Be Burning" - Sean Paul (if the singer can deal with the vocals)
    "Rapture" - Nadia Ali/Iio (also see the acoustic version, and the Avicii remix)
    and maybe some Ace Of Base if the lyrics will work with a male singer