Sore Biceps after a long show?

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by TheFenderBender, Jul 28, 2013.

1. TheFenderBender

TheFenderBender

Anybody have this? About 2 days ago I played for 3 1/2 hours straight , we covered some rancid, iggy and the stooges and some classics too, I was using a pretty heavy bass, about 10.5 pounds, and about 2 hours after the show I felt it in my biceps and shoulder, I get it in my shoulder from the weight, and it usually goes away by the next day, which it did, but this soreness in my biceps and stretched out feeling is still there, anybody have a quick remedy or at least know what the problem is? Im self taught, so is it a technique issue? Or this just normal?

By the way, Im 16, 6ft 2 ish and I weigh about 140 lbs, so I dont have much muscle mass.
  2. FretlessMainly

FretlessMainly

The key here is to learn to differentiate between soreness and pain. For the most part, soreness isn't necessarily a bad thing, although it can be an indicator of the potential for injury. Pain, on the other hand, needs to be recognized as soon as possible and measures need to be taken to eliminate sources of pain.

From what you posted, it sounds as if you are experiencing normal body reflexes to playing a heavy instrument for an extended period of time. One way to deal with this is to build up endurance over a period of time. A bit of weight training (don't over-do it), stretching, and aerobic exercise may help, as will a balanced diet and good hydration. Also, get in the habit of wearing your instrument around the house for stretches of time. Be sure to maintain good posture when you do this. This will help you feel very natural when holding your bass for practice, rehearsals, and gigs.

Keep an eye on things. You are young, and the habits you develop now will serve you well as you age if you stick to a good set of practices.
  3. smeet

smeet Gold Supporting Member