1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

Sound Advice

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by LuckyPants, Jan 5, 2013.

1. LuckyPants

LuckyPants

Hi forum.

I realise this topic will have been approached across several threads but I figure it might be helpful to more than just me if I bring it up in its own thread.

Bas(s)ically I've been playing for 9 years now but I am self-thought and my method of teaching myself was quite simply attempting to learn the 3000+ songs in my iTunes. It sounds dumb but I've turned into a reasonable bassist, with impeccable timing considering I hadn't touched a metronome before last November :rollno:

Anyway - I'm wondering if someone could pretty much give me a tutorial on getting a good sound, in the simplest words possible. The problem is that I look at my amp, and my pedal and I have no idea what any of it means. It sounds dumb, I'm aware, but I'm clueless. My band sometimes ask me for more/less gain and I've no idea how to do that.

I want a sound pretty much identical to this:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=W_x0Hel7eoY#t=110s

Nick Harmer is definitely someone whose sound I'd quite like to replicate, his bass is glorious.

I have a Fender Deluxe Precision Special, active going through a Peavey 700 Tour bass head (I realise Peavey are more famed for metal but it has tons of settings so is flexible) and a Peavey 210. I also have a Boss ME50b.

I realise I'm asking a lot, essentially for someone to give up some time to explain some simple things to me. I appreciate any help greatly, thanks a lot guys :)

2. nitetrane98

nitetrane98