Southern Rock Bass

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by omie, Feb 10, 2013.

1. omie

omie Supporting Member

Long Story...

I'm a self taught(more or less) bass player, riff rock-bluesy bass is my thing. I recently joined my first pure classic rock cover band and I've been having a blast. I've known for years that: A working knowledge of the blues scale, pentatonic and 1-4-5's will get you far in Classic Rock and knowing that, I'm pleased to have easily learned well over half the 40 song set in 3 practices; Deep Purple, Amboy Dukes, Santana, Grand Funk, ZZ Top, SRV, Joe Bonamassa.. Fun! I've had trouble with a couple of songs and sat down for a little self practice and realized that I was having a tough time purely with the Southern Rock/Country boogie songs!? Bluesy.. riffs.. 1-4-5's!?

I'm missing something but can't put my finger on it. I can pick out the notes, I can hear the run/returns from the 1 to the 4 to the 5 back to the 1. But I can't play it or fake it to my satisfaction. I can play 'Keep your hands to Yourself' but I'm missing almost every run.

This is painfully obvious on a simple bass line like The Black Crowes 'Hard to Handle', I know every single note in the song, up and then down and the guys I'm playing with say that what I'm doing is 'fine', but I know; something is wrong! I'm not hitting the groove like I should and it bugs me. When I extrapolate this to much more difficult bass lines like.. 'Gimme Three steps', 'Train Train' or 'Black Betty', I'm lost... I shudder to even consider any Allmans. I'm not automatically grooving with the drums and I can't feel or understand how and what the transitions are and often I'm having a tough time playing the main riff in a way that satisfies. Don't get me wrong, I don't have to play these things note for note but...

I feel humbled by some of the great bass playing and foolish that I've not had appropriate respect.