"Spamalot" pit orchestra gig

Discussion in 'Bass Humor & Gig Stories [BG]' started by BassCliff, Mar 10, 2014.

1. BassCliff

BassCliff

Hello fellow bassists!

I've been doing this gig for 14 years in a row. San Marino High School has an excellent drama department. Every spring they put on a musical production. This year they are doing "Spamalot", a Monty Python product loosely based on their movie "The Holy Grail".

The students at this school are consistently excellent. They hit their marks, say their lines, dance their moves, sing their songs, and they aren't afraid of anything. It's a pleasure to watch them work and be involved in this project.

The first rehearsal with the orchestra was yesterday. The orchestra is on stage behind a scrim. This is what it looks like just before curtain.

[​IMG]

The curtain opens, and away we go!

[​IMG]

The students do everything, lighting, sound, scene changes, etc. They even build their set and props.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

Here's a couple shots of the orchestra:

From rhythm section side.

[​IMG]

From the horn side.

[​IMG]

My rig. We're using my PA this year.

[​IMG]

Some cast members.

[​IMG]

Our guitarist, Byron. This guy is a monster who also has perfect pitch.

[​IMG]

This is Dave, another monster player.

[​IMG]

In the shot with Dave is Ian, the pianist and musical director. I've been working with Ian for over 20 years and he is an excellent musician who plays several instruments. I'm surprised these guys let me hang with them. :p

My book is not too difficult but there are a few tricky spots. It's really fun music with lots of tempo changes, key changes, feel changes, and other odd ball stuff.

[​IMG]

Yesterday was our first full rehearsal. We're rehearsing every night until opening on Friday night. We've got five rehearsals and six performances in the next two weeks. It's good work when you can get it.